Frequently Asked Questions

What is the idea behind Luya?

Not only did we want to develop delicious and juicy plant-based food, but we also wanted to address the issue of food waste actively. Luya contains 50% organic okara. Okara is a valuable by-product of soy processing that is now being put to good use as a food for the first time.

How is Luya produced?

Organic okara and chickpeas are blended, applied to trays and processed into Luya using a patented fermentation process. Luya products are then cut into organic chunks or burger patties. For our marinated products, the delicate marinade is added after the fermentation.

Where do you produce Luya?

Luya is made entirely in Switzerland in a former chocolate factory in Bern Bümpliz by hand.

What is the meaning of the name Luya?

Luia is atributary of the Zambezi River. Since our idea revolves very much around the use of tributaries in food processing, the Luia River was an excellent symbol for it. Only the I became a y. Somehow not logical, but still lovely.

What is okara?

Okara is a by-product of tofu and soy milk production. From 1 kilogram of soy, only 500grams of tofu or ½ litre of soy milk is produced. We use the remaining 500grams of okara as valuable and delicious food for the first time in food production history.

Where do the okara and the other ingredients come from?

Our organic okara and the organic chickpeas come from Switzerland and Northern Italy. Both are grown according to the strict requirements of BioSuisse.

What is a fermentation process?

Fermentation is one of the oldest ways to process food. Well-known foods such as bread, cheese, beer, soy sauce and sauerkraut are all produced by fermentation. Fermentations can preserve food, enhance and change the taste or improve the texture. Fermentations are, therefore, indeed a miracle tool!

Is Luya organic?

Yes, we have selected all ingredients so carefully and sustainably that we have received the Bio Knopse label from BioSuisse. We are particularly proud of this.

Is Luya vegan?

Of course, it is. Luya is not only 100% plant-based but meets all the criteria of vegan food. That's why Luya also has the V label.

Why does Luya taste so delicious and juicy?

Luya ends up so juicy and delicious on your plate due to our patented manufacturing process. Structure, texture and the quality of the delicate fermentation process make this possible. We don't want to reveal any more than that.

Frequently Asked Questions

Was ist die Idee hinter Luya?

Wir wollten nicht nur ein leckeres und saftiges pflanzenbasiertes Lebensmittel entwickeln, sondern auch noch das Thema Foodwaste aktiv angehen. Luya enthält zu 50 % Bio-Okara. Okara ist ein Nebenprodukt der Sojaverarbeitung, das nun erstmals einer sinnvollen Weiterveredelung als Lebensmittel zugeführt wird.

Wie wird Luya hergestellt?

Bio-Okara und Bio-Kichererbsen werden vermengt und nach einem patentierten Fermentierungsverfahren zu Luya weiterverarbeitet.

Wo stellt ihr Luya her?

Luya wird komplett in der Schweiz in einer ehemaligen Schokoladenfabrik in Bern Bümpliz hergestellt, in Handarbeit.

Welche Bedeutung hat der Name Luya?

“Luia” ist ein Nebenfluss des Sambesi River. Da unsere Idee sehr stark um die Nutzung von Nebenflüssen der Nahrungsmittelverarbeitung kreist, war der Fluss Luia ein schönes Sinnbild dafür. Nur aus dem i wurde dann noch ein y. Irgendwie nicht logisch, aber trotzdem schön.

Was ist Okara?

Okara entsteht als Nebenprodukt bei der Tofu- und Sojamilchherstellung. Aus 1 Kilogramm Soja entsteht nur 500 Gramm Tofu oder ½ Liter Sojamilch. Die restliche Menge, 500 Gramm Okara nutzen wir erstmals sinnvoll als wertvolles und leckeres Lebensmittel.

Woher stammt das Okara und die anderen Inhaltsstoffe?

Unser Bio-Okara und auch das Bio-Kichererbsenmehl stammen aus Norditalien.

Was ist ein Fermentationsprozess?

Fermentation ist eine der ältesten Arten Lebensmittel zu verarbeiten. Bekannte Lebensmittel wie Brot, Käse, Bier, Sojasauce oder Sauerkraut werden alle durch Fermentation hergestellt. Durch Fermentationen können Lebensmittel haltbar gemacht werden, der Geschmack verstärkt und verändert werden oder auch die Textur verbessert werden. Fermentationen sind daher ein wirkliches Wunderwerkzeug!

Ist Luya bio?

Ja, wir haben alle Inhaltsstoffe so sorgfältig und nachhaltig ausgewählt, dass wir das Bio Knopse Label erhalten haben. Darauf sind wir besonders stolz.

Ist Luya vegan?

Aber natürlich. Luya ist nicht nur 100% pflanzenbasiert, sondern erfüllt alle Kriterien eines veganen Lebensmittels.

Warum schmeckt Luya so lecker und saftig?

Dass Luya so saftig und lecker auf Deinem Teller landet, liegt an unserem patentierten Herstellungsverfahren. Struktur, Textur und die Qualität des Fermentationsprozesses ermöglichen das. Mehr wollen wir gar nicht verraten.